• Latest News

    Friday, 10 August 2018

    MDC Alliance’s Dr Mavetera elected to Senate


    MASVINGO – The MDC provincial secretary for Masvingo is one of the two MDC Alliance members who have made it into Senate in Masvingo after last week's harmonised elections.
    Senators are elected on the basis of the number of votes that a party garners in the Parliamentary elections. In 2013 MDC T got two senators.
    This year ZANU PF received 319, 073 votes in Masvingo whilst MDC Alliance got 171, 196.
    The other MDC Senator from Masvingo is Esnath Rwambiwa.
    Two women from the MDC Alliance were also elected under the proportional representation and these have made it into Parliament. These are Machirarwa Mugidho and Nyaradzo Mago.
    Three MDC T members also made it to the Provincial Council and these are Sarah Mwatenga, Thokozile Muzivoreva and Chanyawu Muranganwa.
    The three categories of representatives are all based on the votes that the party garnered in the Province.
    Zanu PF got the remaining four senators for Masvingo Province and these are Josiah Hungwe, Lovemore Matuke, Clara Shumba and Otilia Maluleke.
    The ruling party also got four women under proportional representation and these are Annah Rungani, Angeline Chipato, Emma Ncube and Aliginia Samson. Each province is allocated six women under the proportional representation quarter.
    Zanu PF got seven members out of the 10 for the Provincial Council and these are Winnie Tafirenyika, Enita Maziriri, Kudzai Mashingaidze, Phanios Makwarimba, Rennias Muchoko, Chiedza kwanda and Rosemary Mwasa.

    Political News

    • Comment on The Mirror
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: MDC Alliance’s Dr Mavetera elected to Senate Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Webmaster
    Scroll to Top