• Latest News

    Monday, 6 August 2018

    MDC Alliance sweeps Beitbridge urban, ZANU PF takes rural


    BEITBRIDGE - MDC Alliance has swept all six Beitbridge urban wards in the Monday elections with Zanu PF winning all but one ward in the rural area.
    In the last term, MDC T had only one councilor in the urban council and the remainder were Zanu PF.
    The six new MDC Alliance councillors are Daniel Muleya (ward 1), Munyaradzi Chitsunge Ward 2, Takavingei Mahachi Ward 3, Morgan Ncube who is party's National Youth Organising secretary Ward 4, Granger Nyoni Ward 5 and Ward 6 was won by Agnes Tore.
    Rodney Mbedzi is the only MDC T Alliance candidate who made it into the 15 seat Beitbridge Rural District Council (RDC).
    In the Parliamentary elections, ZANU PF Candidate Albert Nguluvhe led in Beitbridge East after he got 13 949 votes beating an MDC Alliance candidate Patricia Ndlovu who had 11 495 votes.
    Handsome Mbedzi, an independant candidate got 1 148 votes and Johane Ndou of PRC party had 795 votes.
    In Beitbridge West, Ruth Maboyi of ZANU PF led the elections with 8 421 votes against Enock Singo of the MDC Alliance who had 2 883 votes. Ronald Ndlovu of Freezim had 357 votes, Moffat Cephas Ndou of PRC had 1 033, Brighton Sibanda Ithuteng had 205 votes and Enock Singo.
     Meanwhile MDC Alliance faired badly in Gwanda District getting one MP; Patrick Dube who snatched the Gwanda Central Constituency. There are 3 constituencies in the district. The country's biggest opposition also won seven out of 13 wards in Gwanda urban and lost all the wards.
    The victors in the urban wards are Joseph Mazhale Ward 7, Gilbert Dube Ward 5, Ponalo Mapala Ward 6, Nkululeko Tshuma Ward 1, Natty Moyo Ward 2 and Njabulo Siziba Ward 4.

    Political News
    • Comment on The Mirror
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: MDC Alliance sweeps Beitbridge urban, ZANU PF takes rural Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Webmaster
    Scroll to Top