• Latest News

    Saturday, 10 September 2016

    Chikomba chiefs to attend assembly over boundary disputes


    – Chiefs from Chikomba District who are warring over boundaries will attend a Provincial Chiefs' Assembly that will be held in Marondera this week on Thursday (September 1, 2016) where matters to do with the issue are going to be discussed.
    This was said during Chikomba District Chiefs' Meeting that was held at the council offices on Friday.
    The chiefs' meeting which was also attended by the Provincial Administrator Tavabarira Kutamahufa and his assistant Japhet Munakira, District Administrator (DA) Clemence Masawi, Chief Chikwakwa from Goromonzi District and Chief Svosve from Hwedza District was held to address boundary clashes amongst chiefs.
    However, the meetings will resume at the Provincial Chiefs' Assembly. The Mirror is reliably informed that chiefs are still disagreeing on giving away part of their land for the creation of Kareya and Maromo chieftainship.
    Kutamahufa declined to comment. He said information would be released to the Press when the matter is complete" 
    "Nyaya ichirikumatare ichazoiswa kumedia kana yapera," he said.
    Some chiefs confirmed that they will attend the Provincial Chiefs' Assembly in Marondera where matters of importance to provincial chiefs and other governmental programs will be outlined.
    "We are going to attend a Provincial Chiefs' Assembly that will be held in Marondera on September 1. Several matters concerning chiefs such as boundary disputes will be looked into during the meeting. The meeting will not specifically be targeting any district but will cater for the issues regarding chiefs in the whole province,"  said one source.
    The boundaries have been affected by the creation of a new chieftainship called Muromo and Kareya.
    However, disputes have been there even before these chieftainships. The newly created Maromo Chieftainship will have the Minister of Lands and Rural Resettlement, Dr Douglas Mombeshora's biological father Augustine Mombeshora as the first chief.
    The seven Chiefs whose area can be affected by the new chieftainship are Maromo, Kareya, Senator Musarurwa (Enos Masakwa), Chivese (Thomas Makambe), Mtekedza (Andrew Zhakata), Neshangwe (Conellius Dhangwa), Nyoka (Musafare Matizha).
    • Comment on The Mirror
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: Chikomba chiefs to attend assembly over boundary disputes Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Webmaster
    Scroll to Top