• Latest News

    Saturday, 6 August 2016

    50 artistes nominated for Midlands Music Awards


    GWERU –
    More than 50 artistes have been nominated for the 2016 Midlands Music Awards (MMA) which are billed to take place on August 26, 2016, MMA Vice President Mavis Koslek has said.
    Koslek said the event will be held at Cathedral Hall.
    "The 3rd edition of MMA will be held at the Cathedral Hall next month-end and more than 50 artistes have been nominated for about 16 different categories," said Koslek
    The awards will be held under the theme; celebrating arts, culture and music excellence in the Midlands Province.   
    "Our theme says it all. l am creating a musical platform for all our Midlands artists to rise and keep up their musical talents like any other artists in the country. We want to keep holding on until they succeed.
    My dream is to see Midlands artists grow bigger so that they are marketable in bigger stages. l have created this platform as an annual event to celebrate musicians born and bred in the Midlands Province," said Koslek
    The categories include Best club Djs, Best contemporary gospel, best traditional gospel, Best Afropop, Best collaboration, Best house, Best dance music, Best newcomer, Best jazz music, Best hiphop, Best single, Best music video and Best producer.
    Some of the artists to look out for during the awards ceremony are Daniel Mhere, Pastor Olinda, Junior Tee and The future Crew.
    Koslek said that the nomitated artists will be voted for via MMA facebook page which is now set and ready for voting.
    "Voting will be done through MMA facebook page and the site is now set and ready so those who want to vote can start doing so. We are looking forward for the community's support and the support can also be seen through the number of voters," said Koslek.

    Nominees for the 3rd Midlands Music Awards:

    *Best Producer*
    Josh "JaeMac" Makoni
    Prince "Oskid" Tapfuma
    Comfort "Sky" Chimedza
    Swizz E Productions
    Themba (Dj Themba Remember) Kuzvikonda

    *Best Music Video*
    Jehovah Tshuvah – Pastor Olinda
    Zino Irema – Takura
    You & I – Goodchild
    Ndai (Money) – Ur Highness
    Ishe Wemadzishe – Knowledge Khanye

    *Best Single*
    Zino Irema – Takura
    Delilah – Goodchild
    Mwedzi Muchena – Dj Stavo ft Oliver Mtukudzi
    Ready to Go – FYP ft QuaZor

    *Best Hiphop Music*
    TupAc Shakur – Afriken
    Colour of Dreams – Guluva Se7en
    Singles Collection – Crystalefire
    LAZARUS – Ur Highness
    Chibhachura – Di Truth

    *Best Jazz Music*
    Kushingirira  - Valentyne
    Tichasvika Chete – Samukoko
    SENTIMENTAL – Brandon Mvura
    Pentimento – Brandon Mvura

    *Best Newcomer*
    Heavy Rain – Daniel Mhere
    Jehovah Tshuvah – Pastor Olinda
    Pentimento & SENTIMENTAL – Brandon Mvura
    Singles Collection – Drudaman T
    Uringirozi – Junior Tee

    *Best Club DJ*
    Dj Crocx
    Dj Masty
    Dj Brian
    Dj G Freshy
    Dj Silver

    *Best Dancehall Music*
    Singles Collection – Tiny Trigger
    10 outter 10 – Giantau Int.
    Chamanginga – Zizoe
    Kuonesana – Legion
    Last Numb3r - Magaivha

    *Best House Music*
    Mwedzi Muchena – Dj Stavo ft Oliver Mutukudzi

    *Best Reggae/Chigiyo Music*
    Singles Collection – Chaki & The Specialist

    *Best Collaboration*
    Mwedzi Muchena – Dj Stavo ft Oliver Mutukudzi
    Kushingirira – Valentyne ft Prince K Musarurwa
    Ndakanya – Brandon Mvura ft Edith WeUtonga & Claire
    Daza to Topola – Guluva Se7en ft Cal_vin
    Lazarus – Ur Highness ft Roki

    *Best AfroPop Music*
    Singles Collection – Goodchild
    Monumental – Brandon Mvura & Serah K
    The Future Vol 1 – The Future Crew

    *Best Traditional Gospel Music*
    Hwamanda – Albert Chawa Israel
    Double Double – Mathias Mhere
    Ishe Wemadzishe – Knowledge Khanye & Psalmville Voices
    Anenyasha – Attalia Parehwa
    Heavy Rain – Daniel Mhere

    *Best Contemporary Gospel Music*
    Jehovah Tshuvah – Pastor Olinda
    His Grace – Wellaz (ft Will Young)
    Mabasa Makuru – Nybal
    Happy Birthday – EECF Praise Team
    Inguva Chete – Panganai Sithole
    *Lifetime Achievement Award*
    Anthony Mukanga a.k.a Tony G | Baseline Studios.
    *Best Radio DJ/Personality*
    Dj Chilli – Power FM Zimbabwe
    Ruvarangu Tichareva – YaFm
    Dj Tony G – ZiFM Stereo
    Gogo Beau – YaFm
    entertainment news

    • Comment on The Mirror
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: 50 artistes nominated for Midlands Music Awards Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Staff Reporter
    Scroll to Top