• Latest News

    Sunday, 31 July 2016

    Farmers win awards at the Lowveld Community Awards


    Farmers and farmers' organisations walked tall on Saturday night when they received awards for outstanding achievements at the Lowveld Community Development Awards held at Civic Centre grounds in Chiredzi.
    The awards were being given for the first time and they were organised by Lowveld Community Development Trust (LCDT).
    The occasion was graced by the Minister of Industry and Commerce Mike Bimha who was the guest of honour. Also present were local MPs and several chiefs.
    The Zimbabwe Sugarcane Development Association (ZSDA) led by Edmore Veterai scooped the Best Run Association and got a floating trophy.
    Tongaat founder Hullet Murray MacDougal got the Sugar Industry Lifetime Award while Tongaat Hullet got the Sugarcane Value Addition Lifetime Award. William Bain got Farm Mechanisation Award, National Railways of Zimbabwe scooped the Lowveld Logistical Support Award and ZINWA won Lowveld Water Security Award.
    Companies like N Richards, Nyaradzo Funeral, PSMAS and several others were also honoured in various disciplines.
    Fairline Investments, a transport company with trucks got Best Transporter Award.
    Chingwanga Investments won Best Supermarket Award. Farai Musikavanhu was judged Best Farmers in Mkwasine, Roy Bhila was Best Farmer in Mapanza area, Dzinoreva in Hippo Valley and Guruvheti in Triangle.
    Minister Bimha said the awards play a major role in promoting competition within the region as national development without grassroots development is meaningless.
    LCDT spokesperson, Rungano Hove said organisers were overwhelmed by the success and response from the local people. He urged those who did not win prizes to work hard so that they will be winners in the next edition.
    agriculture news
    • Comment on The Mirror
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: Farmers win awards at the Lowveld Community Awards Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Webmaster
    Scroll to Top