• Latest News

    Saturday, 12 October 2019

    ZISMIWU elects new executive members


    CHIREDZI - Zimbabwe Sugar Industry Workers Union (ZISMIWU) has elected four new executive members to fill in gaps left by members who have since been fired from employment at Tongaat Hullet.
    The elections held on Sunday come after a High Court order issued by Justice Mafusire. Those who are being replaced were fired after leading an industrial action that almost crippled Tongaat in 2014.
    Two factions vied for positions with one led by Zanu PF Masvingo provincial member Berrington Zvanyanya and another by Foster Gono also claiming control of the union.
    The Zvanyanya faction whose candidate for secretary General is Addmore Hwarare boycotted the elections.
    The new executive members are Patrick Masaiti, Moses Mutonho, Simon Ndale and Taruvinga Madenyaya.
    The four replace former president Godfrey Katerere, Brawl Chikandiwa, Tavonga Vandirai and Lucia Chirhilele. They will join old executive members Samuel Mubango and Nokutula Dube.
    ZISMIWU Secretary General Faster Gono said the new executive will sit down to elect their president and other positions.
    #Masvingo Mirror#
    • Comment on The Mirror
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: ZISMIWU elects new executive members Rating: 5 Reviewed By: http://www.masvingomirror.com/
    Scroll to Top