• Latest News

    Friday, 10 August 2018

    Primary election losers appointed to commissions

    From page 1
    Chindanya is the chair and will be assisted by Clemence Chiduwa and District Administrator Ndeya Nyede. Juliet Hungoidza is chairing Chivi RDC being assisted by Albert Chamwadoro Meke and DA Hlavati Lavios.
    Stephen Chiurawa leads Gutu RDC together with Josphat Sarukore and DA Chiedza Tafirei while Obey Mbiza is chairing Mwenezi RDC being assisted by Obert Mubaiwa and Rosemary Chingwe (DA). 
    Moyo urged the commissioners to follow statutes when presiding over the councils. He barred them from engaging in land allocations, entering into joint ventures, dealing with tenders or employing staff or disposing council property.
     "His Excellency, the President has proclaimed that the dissolution of the current Parliament of Zimbabwe is slated for 29 July 2018. The proclamation is in terms of Section 143(1) of the Constitution which states that, "Parliament stand dissolved at midnight on the day before the first polling day," In this regard, the term of office for all councilors ends on the same day. Section 143 of the Constitution as read with Section 158 of the Rural Councils Act (Chapter 29:13) and Section 80 of the Urban Councils Act (Chapter 29:15) provides that Local Authorities will be presided over by commissions prior to the swearing in of new councilors" reads part of the letter. 
    Lovemore Chisema (DA Chiredzi) and Ndeya Nyede for Zaka confirmed the appointments.
    The Chiredzi RDC Commission set on Monday to deliberate on issues of importance within the local authority.

    Political News
    • Comment on The Mirror
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: Primary election losers appointed to commissions Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Webmaster
    Scroll to Top